Sunday, April 29, 2012


(Picture courtesy Facebook)

Former Swan Valley Stampeder Ryan Marshall named Anavet Cup MVP, scoring 9 points (6g-3a) in seven games.  The Humboldt Broncos beat Portage 4-0 in Game 7 on Sunday.


The Anavet Cup is in Saskatchewan to stay.

The Humboldt Broncos wrapped up the final Anavet Cup Championship with a 4-0 win over Portage in Game 7.

Andrew Johnston scored twice, while Taylor Johnson and Ryan Marshall added the others. Marshall, the former MJHLer was named the Anavet Cup's MVP, with 6 goals and 9 points in the seven game series.

For Matt Hrynkiw, it was his second straight series clinching shutout. After blanking Weyburn in Game 6 to secure the SJHL Canalta Cup, Hrynkiw stopped all 26 shots he faced in Game 7 of the Anavet. Shots were 34-26 for the Broncos.

Credit the Terriers, who lost the first three games of the series, only to storm all the way back with three straight one-goal wins to force a seventh and deciding game.

For Humboldt, they knew they'd be in the RBC Cup all season, but won their way there, and will enter the national tournament through the front door.

The Broncos and Terriers will both be at the RBC Cup, and be joined by the Penticton Vees, Soo Thunderbirds, and Woodstock Slammers.

The RBC Cup in Humboldt starts on Saturday, May 5th. Humboldt will take on Woodstock that night, while the Vees and Thunderbirds will kick off the event on Saturday afternoon.


RBC Cup Schedule

Saturday, May 5

Soo Thunderbirds (Central) vs Penticton Vees (Pacific)  3:00
Humboldt Broncos (Host) vs Woodstock Slammers (East)  7:30

Sunday, May 6
Soo Thunderbirds (Central) vs Portage Terriers  (West)  3:00
Penticton Vees (Pacific) vs Humboldt Broncos (Host)  7:30

Monday, May 7
Woodstock Slammers vs Portage Terriers  7:30

Tuesday, May 8
Humboldt Broncos vs Soo Thunderbirds  3:00
Penticton Vees vs Woodstock Slammers  7:30

Wednesday, May 9
Portage Terriers vs Penticton Vees  7:30

Thursday, May 10

Woodstock Slammers vs Soo Thunderbirds  3:00
Portage Terriers vs Humboldt Broncos  7:30

Saturday, May 12
Semi Final #1  2:00
Semi Final #2  6:00

Sunday, May 13

Championship  TBD

No comments: